A Couple of Thoughts.

Last weekend I helped an artist friend of mine show his work at a mutual friend and art collector’s home. While waiting for the guests to appear I snooped around to look at the art. Leaning against the wall of the guest bedroom was a print by Robert Motherwell! I asked about it and learned that my friend, the collector, had bought the print at a local gallery. He was saying that he would rather buy art than invest in the stock market. I was impressed.

If anyone happens to be in Houston in April there is an exhibit of Robert Rauschenberg’s prints at Devin Borden Hiram Butler Gallery. It is Robert Rauschenberg’s The Lotus Series – a group of color etchings that is the culmination of the artist’s love of China. I am planning on going this week.

Andis Applewhite

Comments are closed.