Intern Perspectives: Fleming Jeffries

"Cloudsmanship" by Fleming Jeffries

Upon my first look of Fleming Jeffries work I quickly found myself submerged into these worlds of impossible landscapes. With such detail and fluidity her imagery pulls you in, leaving you to question what’s real, what’s false, where it ends or begins. Her use of the shaped plates lends its self so nicely with each landscape, especially in her pieces “River Hinge (with catastrophe corner) and “Cloudsmanship”. What I appreciate most about Jeffries work is her use of color and how she handles tone throughout all of her works. Although most of her pieces are without color, when Jeffries does introduce color she does it with such subtlety that it does not distract the viewer from the actual imagery of the print as a whole.

Another important aspect to her work is the perspectives that she creates in each landscape. The changes in perspective allow me to imagine that these images go on forever. Viewing the Cloud Garden series as a whole is much like stepping into a dream, making it easy to throw reality out the window and never look back. I am so appreciative of artists such as Jeffries for giving me this sort of release from reality and allowing me to experience this level of imagination.

Directors note:  The above article was written by WPG intern Marissa Ames,  currently studying at MICA in Baltimore, Maryland.  Fleming Jeffries will be included in September’s “Director’s Cut” exhibition, visit our website for more details, including reception times.

Comments are closed.