Margaret Adams Parker at the College of Southern Maryland

"Grief" 2-Color woodcut by Margaret Adams Parker

WPG member artist Margaret Adams Parker’s exhibition, “Laments for Our World,” is on view now through October 21 at the Tony Hungerford Memorial Art Gallery at the College of Southern Maryland (La Plata, MD).  Below is the exhibition statement, and you can find out additional information by clicking the link above.  We hope you’re able to see this wonderful show!

“Laments for Our World” by Margaret Adams Parker: I consider that I am called, as an artist, to bear witness to the world that I see around me and also to the ways that I understand that world.  This yields not only images of beauty and tenderness but also images of suffering and terror.  I call this latter part of my work – created over the past 16 years – my Laments.  These images were not made in any systematic fashion, rather they constitute my response to individual events or acts which seized my imagination.   I am reminded of Albert Schweitzer’s injunction to “think occasionally of the suffering of which you spare yourself the sight” and of Elie Wiesel’s words, “It is so much easier to look away from victims.  It is so much easier to avoid such rude interruptions to our work, our dreams, our hopes”.    These Laments are my way of acknowledging these sorrows.  They are an invitation to viewers to see them through my hand and eyes, heart and mind.  I hope they speak in some way to each of you.

Comments are closed.