From our Spring Newsletter: Andy Farkas

Below is an excerpt from our just-published Spring Newsletter, in which WPG member Andy Farkas discusses his work.  This is just a short part of the article, we encourage you to click on the newsletter link to read more about his thoughts on storytelling and text in his artwork, as well.

I was asked recently by a friend who is a preacher how I feel about that which I’ve made (as he was doing research on a sermon about the Creation), which was an interesting question and one I’d not given much thought to. My response on
creation: “In my work, there are two very distinct and separate aspects. The act of creation, and the creation itself (once created). The act of creation is very personal and selfish in the sense that what I create, I create for myself. It is what I am needing, that the world around me doesn’t or isn’t providing. It also does not come from my conscious thought, but in bits, and I jot down the pieces as they come into my consciousness. I don’t have a full picture of what it will be until all the pieces are in place… no preconceived ideas.”

“When the piece is done, I am done with it, I no longer need it, but it is completely a piece of me, and I put it out into the world. I find working in this way honest, personal and uncontrived, allowing others to attach to the work in the same way I do. The work at this point fills me with a sense of connectedness to all people and things.” I find myself awash in these ideas as opposed to the intricacies of different processes. Improvisational ideas bound across my mind nearly too quick to capture, and so the real challenge of printmaking comes in keeping the ideas and images as full of life in the print as when they come to me in my head, even after dragging them through the confines of ‘process.’ That’s the real magic of printmaking.

Comments are closed.