“Fragments” by Eric COGu Robinson

"Fragments" by Eric COGu Robinson

In July WPG member Eric COGu Robinson will show his exhibition, Fragments, in the Press Room.  Below is his show statement.  Mark your calendars and enjoy!

I make artwork because the making helps me to understand life, like having a deep conversation with a friend, or taking critical notes at a library.  I develop understanding of a subject by addressing it in print variations—hundreds of them.

I make a lot of prints.  Many of them are good.  A few are great.  Quite a few are not that good.

I throw some of them away.

Some, however, I crop and use collectively as members of a greater whole.

I shall call it [trumpet sounds!]… Aggregate Art.

Really it’s just a quilt.  Our grandmothers were on to this ages ago.  They were doing this before Picasso, collage, and later Rauschenberg.  Indeed quilts have directly inspired many artists including Chuck Close and myself.

As for me, I am just discovering the exciting possibilities, and I invite you to join in the fun.  Select a group of prints to purchase and arrange however you see fit.

So, here they are, arranged for now in a pseudo-postmodernish appearance.  But don’t let that deceive you; for, truly, there is nothing new under sun (Ecclesiastes 1:9).

Comments are closed.