Postcard from Pittsburgh

Artists Access on a Tuesday night.

After a final visit earlier this Spring for the 2nd showing of her two-person show, Field of Vision, WPG artist Martha Oatway is permanently back States-side. (At least for now!)  Read on about her latest printmaking doings:

Now that my two year experience in Preston, UK is over I am spending much of my time in the Pittsburgh, PA area. Moving to a new area has its sticky points, a major one of which is; where can I print? My answer came in the form of Pittsburgh Center for the Arts.

The Scaife Mansion, which houses the PCA school.

The PCA was founded in 1945 and took possession of the mansion of industrialist Charles D. Marshall which was erected in 1911. In 1946 the Center’s facilities doubled when the next-door mansion of A.M. Scaife was to the city. A short history of the PCA can be found at the link.

The Marshall mansion houses the exhibitions and the Scaife mansion houses the PCA School which offers classes in visual and literary arts. I discovered that the PCA offers Access Membership which allows me to use their printmaking facilities and to meet other printmakers. Immediately after signing up I was happily using one of the two large intaglio presses.

Artist Jen Fabian wipes her plate.

The printmaking facilities include the use of inks, the presses, an area for working and a separate room for acid baths and an exhaust hood. At the moment I can use the facilities three times a week and it’s been a good way to meet other printmakers while being able to work larger than I can in my own small studio at home.

I’ve also joined the Pittsburgh Print Group which is one of the PCA’s eight guilds. I look forward to meeting other printmakers through the PCA and Access membership and hope that at some point WPG and PCA can do a project together.

One response to “Postcard from Pittsburgh

  1. Glad to have you aboard here in the Pittsburgh printmaking community. Looking forward to seeing how your work progresses, and would welcome a joint exhibit by the Pittsburgh Print Group and Washington Printmakers Gallery.