From our Fall Newsletter: Deron DeCesare

The following is an excerpt from WPG’s Fall Newsletter about our upcoming October exhibition.  Click the newsletter link for more information on recent and upcoming shows and events!

WPG is looking forward to Deron DeCesare’s upcoming solo show during  October 2012, which will include new drypoints, painterly monotypes and trace monotypes. Entitled ‘Old World and New: Apart, Though Still a Part,’ the show stems from a trip to Italy DeCesare took during Spring 2011. ‘Narrow medieval alleyways, huddled lake and oceanside towns, grand piazzas and Roman remnants became an additional source for me. More significantly, this trip was my first return to my ancestral home. Traveling with my immediate family as I did served to enhance the sense of reunion I felt. A reunion with, as the show title hints, something that has always been a part of me.’

The photos above and next page show Deron at work on new trace monotypes, a process where ink is transferred to paper (in this case a paper with a distinctive laid texture) from a plate covered with rolled-out ink. The impression, made with a sharp tool drawn across the back surface of the paper, retains a unique line quality where the paper is pressed into the ink. ‘This is a new technique for me. I’m enjoying exploring all the variables. For one thing, this method has facilitated experimenting with scale. With no press involved, I’m no longer limited by the size of my press. Working larger than I have in the past, at least with regards to printmaking, is a useful expressive tool in light of my treatment of some of my present subject matter.’ In addition to Italian scenes, DeCesare’s show will also include closer-to-home landscape subjects as well as nudes, providing an interesting counterpoint to the travel inspired work.

Old World and New: Apart, Though Still a Part’ will be on view October 3 – 28, 2012 with a reception and gallery talk planned for October 6, 1-4 pm. All are invited to the exhibition and to the reception to meet the artist.

Comments are closed.