Why I Love Prints IV

WPG artist member Gabriel Jules shares her thoughts:

"Ashes to Ashes" by Gabriel Jules

“Ashes to Ashes” by Gabriel Jules

Why do we love anything?  What compels attraction?  Is it hardwired into our brains, or an acquired avocation or addiction, depending on your predilections or obsessions?

I was born into a family of printmakers, artists and collectors, if not direct advocates.  From an early age I was exposed to all manner of graphic arts.  I lived with these vibrant images (some of which were pretty disturbing).  When I was young, if I needed to go to the bathroom at night, I got to walk past Kollwitz’s Death holding a mother and child.  I averted my eyes.  I could not avert my soul.

The depth and breadth of fine art printmaking astounds me.  It is extremely versatile and complex.  Within a single medium there is an absolutely amazing vocabulary of style, form, texture, color, methodology, and interpretation, each incarnation of which calls upon the viewer to analyze, synthesize, go deeper, experience more!  And so much of it is incredibly beautiful and thought provoking.  What a divine avenue of expression.

Comments are closed.