Hello and Goodbye!

Damon Arhos and Annie Newman

Damon Arhos and Annie Newman

Annie here–Tomorrow is my last day with Washington Printmakers Gallery.  I have had such a wonderful time getting to know many of you, some in person and some online, and can truly say that my time with WPG has been one of the best experiences.  As I’ve mentioned before, printmakers are such a unique group of artists and people:  The technical and collaborative nature of the art form (not to mention the low-brow beginnings of some printmaking media) make printmakers a very sharing, easy-going, and cooperative group as a whole. They make a great set of employers!  I am proud of our accomplishments together, including two international exhibitions (Bewick’s Legacy: Six Contemporary British Wood Engravers and Chinese Impressions: Contemporary Ex Libris Prints), as well as our move to Pyramid Atlantic and the growth of our sister non-profit, Washington Print Foundation.  Thank you to the members and the community at large for making my time here such a success!

And, in case you’re wondering what’s next for me, my husband and I are moving to Charlottesville, VA for a complete and total change in lifestyle.  We are starting Sylvanaqua Farms, click on the link to read more about this wholistic management approach to farming and make sure to like us on Facebook as well!  Then, if you’re close by, look for us at a farmer’s market near you next spring!

With that,  I am thrilled to introduce WPG’s new director, Damon Arhos.  I’ll let him tell you a little about himself, below.  Cheers, everyone!

Damon here! First, I want to thank both Annie and all of the WPG members for their kindness during my interview process, and for offering me such a warm welcome as I assume my duties as Gallery Director. Know that I am so very impressed by all that WPG has accomplished over nearly 30 years, and am looking forward to partnering with each of you to continue its success in the future.

A little about me: My partner Mark Peppler and I moved to the DC area from Austin, Texas in January, and live close by in Takoma Park. I have longtime experience in marketing and communications, having developed my career in technology over nearly 20 years. As well, I am a mixed media collage artist who currently maintains space at DC Arts Studios in Takoma. While in Texas, in addition to my studio practice, I participated in numerous arts organizations, including Art Alliance Austin and the Umlauf Sculpture Garden and Museum.

I am excited about this new opportunity, and am looking forward to getting to know each of you. I hope that you will consider stopping by the gallery in the near future so that I can introduce myself. See you soon!

One response to “Hello and Goodbye!

  1. Wishing you much success with the farm. You are moving to a great area; lots of wonderful artists down there.